Snapshot Photography

By: Maggie Red

May 31 2012

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Landscape Photography, Photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/7.48
Focal Length:11.13mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/1400 sec
Camera:FinePix XP10
The Best Valentine

Then, there are times when you snap a picture, and it magically turns itself into photography.

Last year during my photography class, one week’s topic was “Landscape.” So, I chose to wake up at an ungodly hour and drive out to Paynes Prairie in time for sunrise one morning to get my Landscape shots for the week. By the time I was done, I did indeed have a few glorious photographs to share.

Then, I proceeded with my week and my weekend. It was Valentine’s weekend and I was going on a lovely little float up the Santa Fe river for an overnight. The next morning I woke up at a not-quite-so-ungodly hour but in time for the dawning of the day.

So, I took my little point-and-shoot Fuji XP10 (perfect for canoe camping trips) and took some riverside pictures. The fog was rising up in a most spectacular fashion and the light was just filtered enough to be bright but not harsh. It didn’t occur to me that this would all translate quite nicely to a Landscape-themed photograph.

I was only snapping a quick picture, after all.

Yet, when I was going through all my photos from the week, this snapshot from the river kept catching my eye. It felt awfully silly to have taken so many photos of a prairie sunrise on a fancy DSLR  just to turn in as my choice photograph an afterthought snap from my waterproof point-and-shoot.

But that’s just what I did. And my photo was named the best of the class that week. Who’da thunk it?

Leave a Reply

