My Camera

By: Maggie Red

May 21 2012

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: Photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:55mm
ISO:800
Shutter:1/25 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XS

I guess it would be prudent of me to supply any curious minds with some information about what camera I use, what lens I use, and the little experience that I have.

The whole of my DSLR experience consists of a single, introductory course on digital photography in my last semester of college (Spring 2011). I liked it so much and got enough good feedback on my photography that I decided to purchase a good camera as a graduation gift to myself. I am the proud owner of a Canon Rebel XS, and I have only a single lens for it at the moment, the standard 18-55 mm. This camera has served me very well thus far, especially since my photography is simply a hobby.

A little review of my Canon

It’s got 10.1 megapixels and a 2.5″ LED screen. It integrates with the Canon EF-S lens system. It shoots in various JPEG sizes or RAW or both. It has many shooting modes, aperture priority, shutter priority, full manual, program, automatic depth of field, full auto, and other auto presets.

It’s small enough to be portable, and it just plain takes great photos.

Much of the reason I chose it is because it is affordable. If you really can’t go over $500 on your first DSLR, this baby is the way to go. Yes, it’s an older model, but two hundred extra bucks isn’t going to make you a better photographer. No, it doesn’t have any kind of video capability. Why do you need video on your camera anyway? Are you a soccer mom? Then, go get a nice hybrid compact camera. You’ll get the higher quality photos you want and you’ll probably get all the bells and whistles and buttons you want, too.

My other camera

As an aside, I will briefly mention that I do own a compact camera for my more precarious endeavors or for taking snapshots of a night out. It is a Fuji XP10, and I love it. It’s waterproof to about 10 feet, shockproof from about 3.3 feet, freezeproof to 14 degrees F, and dustproof. I have more or less tested all of these conditions, whether intentionally or not. In fact, I can tell you that it will work in temperatures below 14 degrees F as long as you keep it in a pocket close to your body to preserve the battery life. Plus, it is very small and light, which is perfect for backpacking trips on which you need to cut weight.

 

I love both of my cameras. They almost always do exactly what they’re told to do. If there are any shortcomings in my photography, it is not the fault of my camera.

Leave a Reply

